[BLOG TOUR] Tiger Queen

TigerQueen-Cover1

Tiger Queen
by Annie Sullivan
Published by BLINK
Releasing on September 10th, 2019
YA Fiction—Fantasy, Retelling, Romance

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N | BOOK DEPOSITORY

 

Belle's

2

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Belle's

3

*I WAS PROVIDED AN e-ARC BY THE PUBLISHER FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS BLOG TOUR. THIS DOESN’T AFFECT MY OPINION*

Can I just take a moment to say ‘wowzah’ to the amount of world building this novel had? A lot of books don’t really include world building as a main priority, but through reading this, you could tell that was one of the main forefronts.

Something I really enjoyed about this novel was the chance for self-discovery. Kateri realizes that she can’t really follow along with what everyone says, and that she needs to be able to see just how bad things are for herself before she can make a judgement call.

One thing that really bothered me, though, was the bare minimum of romance we were given. As one of the arranged categories for this book, I expected there to be more romance than what we were given. I was actually kind of disappointed by the lack thereof.

Looking over that, I’d say that this book was fairly enjoyable. I loved the world building, and the characters were pretty good. The plot flowed with few bumps. For that, I rate this book 3.75 stars.

Belle's

Separators

_Her skin crawled as they did, each type of magic at odds with the next, housed so closely together with the one host.No one knew what it was like. No one._

_Her skin crawled as they did, each type of magic at odds with the next, housed so closely together with the one host.No one knew what it was like. No one._ (1)

Belle's

4

AnnieSullivan-PhotoAnnie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

Belle's

5

Prize: Tiger Queen poster and signed bookplate (USA only)
Starts: 9/4/19
Ends: 9/13/19enter-png-enter-button-white-on-blue-glass-541

Advertisements

One thought on “[BLOG TOUR] Tiger Queen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s