First Line Friday: The Silence of Bones

Happy Friday, y’all!

I’m writing this as I’m watching the reruns of the Figure Skating Worlds Championship, and oh my gosh, y’all. I’m so astonished and just blown away by the talent every one of these competitors has. (But we all know the main reason I watch these competitions is to see Yuzuru Hanyu–my biggest idol and inspiration–perform.) With that being said though, let’s get back to books.

Today’s First Line is coming from June Hur’s The Silence of Bones. This book took me by complete surprise upon its publication, and I ended up enjoying it so much more than I’d originally planned. And with Hur’s upcoming release The Forest of Girls  getting closer and closer to publishing each day now, I thought it’d be a great time to spread some love for her debut.

If you haven’t already, definitely make sure to add this book to your TBR and pick up a copy! I promise, y’all will not be let down.
Separators

DELETE8

The Silence of Bones
by June Hur
Published by Feiwel & Friends
Released on April 21st, 2020
YOUNG ADULT FICTION–Historical, Mystery, Thriller
Representation: Korean (Own Voices)
Trigger Warnings: Death, murder, loss of loved ones, mentions of suicide, branding, sexism, classism, injured animals, animal death, torture, imprisonment, physical abuse, verbal abuse, slavery, PTSD

green-buy-now-buttonDELETE


I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;
Ears, but I mustn’t hear;
Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

9

The capital lay deep in stillness.

Separators (1)

DELETEJune Hur was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. Most of her work is inspired by her journey through life as an individual, a dreamer, and a Christian, with all its confusions, doubts, absurdities and magnificence. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. When she’s not writing, she can be found journaling at a coffee shop. She lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter.

Her debut novel THE SILENCE OF BONES (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan, April 2020) is a murder mystery set in Joseon Dynasty Korea (early 1800s), and also a coming-of-age tale about a girl searching for home. It was recently selected by the American Booksellers Association as one of the top debuts of Winter/Spring 2020 (Indies Introduce).

She is represented by Amy Bishop of Dystel, Goderich & Bourret LLC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s