REVIEW: The Black Kids

REVIEW: The Black Kids

The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed Published by Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers Released on August 4th, 2020 YOUNG ADULT FICTION---Historical, Contemporary       Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. [...]

ARC REVIEW: All That’s Left in the World

ARC REVIEW: All That’s Left in the World

All That's Left in the World by Erik J. Brown Published by Balzer & Bray Releasing on March 8th, 2022 YOUNG ADULT FICTION---Science Fiction > Dystopian, Romance     What If It's Us meets Life as We Knew It in this postapocalyptic, queer YA adventure romance from debut author Erik J. Brown. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera [...]

ARC REVIEW: The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School

ARC REVIEW: The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School

The Lesbiana's Guide to Catcholic School by Sonora Reyes Published by Balzer & Bray Releasing on May 17th, 2022 YOUNG ADULT FICTION---Contemporary, Romance       Seventeen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers drawing attention for her killer eyeliner, not for being the new kid at a mostly white, very rich, Catholic school. But at least here no [...]

REVIEW: Like a Love Song

REVIEW: Like a Love Song

Like a Love Song by Gabriela Martins Published by Get Underlined (Delacorte) Released on August 3rd, 2021 YOUNG ADULT FICTION---Contemporary, Romance       This debut paperback original romance follows a Latina teen pop star whose image takes a dive after a messy public breakup, until she’s set up with a swoon-worthy fake boyfriend. Fake [...]